My Hero

IMG_8001

Words cannot truly express how I am feeling right now but I will try. Bella is wonderful, she is my lifeline as many of you know, and to have her honored in People Magazines American Heroes Book is beyond amazing. First I must say that there are so many great people and animals recognized in this edition that if you go out and buy a copy to see us, please read some of the articles. People and animals are amazing.

IMG_7998

About two months ago an editor of People contacted me and told me that they would like to write a story about us for the Heroes book. After the interview, I kind of forgot about it for a while and never did I dream that we would be the center of the book. So yesterday when a coworker messaged me a photo of the article, I was ridiculously excited to find a copy. I left my house at 9:30 at night in search of a copy and I looked everywhere. First a gas station, then Hy-Vee, then Barnes and Noble and I finally broke down and went to Walmart. I hate going to Walmart. I especially hate going to Wal-Mart at night. But I went, found the magazine and promptly lost it in Walmart. I freaked out in excitement and jumped up and down. People looked at me like I was crazy and I couldn’t help but be like “LOOK! IT’S ME AND BELLA!!!” one guy humored me and was like that’s awesome, the rest just gave me funny looks.

IMG_7997

When I finally got home and read the article, I was shaking and crying. It is the perfect article I could ask for. The guy who wrote it did an amazing job. It even mentioned my blog with a link to check it out.

Some of you might be asking, “Why were you crying?” To me this is the most amazing thing to happen after all of this. It is rare to find a good, accurate story about psychiatric service dogs and to have that article be about my service dog was unreal. I am still in shock at just how big of photo it is.

All in all, this has to be my favorite thing to come out of going viral. I am humbled by all the well wishes and would like to thank all my friends and family for how great you have been. To all my new readers that have sent me support, thank you for sharing your stories with me and I hope you continue your own journeys with strength.

Thank you,

Valerie and Bella

IMG_7992

PS Bella has requested a trip to pet co today and I am more than happy to oblige. I mean, I have to spoil the animal hero of the year!

2 thoughts on “My Hero

Leave a Reply

