Late Reaction to past posts

Disclaimer, this was supposed to have been posted last week. Rather then rewrite it, I will just be posting it as is.

(Friday August 22) This morning I am sitting here relaxing and enjoying my day off, Bella is curled up next to me. I wasn’t sure what I was going to write when I sat down, I have a lot of topics in mind but I just can’t decide what to post. Here’s why

I want to be honest, when I posted parts of my story earlier this week I was doing it mainly for me thinking that a handful of people would read it. Since then, I have had 200 people read my blog. It’s crazy. What’s funny is I started this blog for Bella and me, sometimes we just need to vent or inform and I realized that I don’t think I am the only one that needs this.

When I woke up the next morning I had about 5 personal messages, since then the number is up to 10. Plus the comments on my blog by people I’ve known for a long time that suffer from similar issues. I knew about 2 of them. 2! It’s like waking up one morning and finding out there is this support group available that no one realizes we have because we are too afraid to speak out.

For those who are struggling and haven’t told many people, please remember you are not alone in your struggle. Everyone’s struggle is different and I think that is important to share. I understand not everyone wants to tell their story, but I want to say how liberating and freeing it was. That being said, if anyone reading my blog that is struggling would like to share his or her story (be it with their name or anonymous) I would like to open up space on my blog. You don’t have to do this, but I want you to know the option is available.

I also want to say thank you for all the support. I know that for many of you, reading those stories couldn’t be easy. For that I want to say I am proud of you. I am proud of you for taking that step in acknowledging that Mental Illness is a serious issue and what other way to acknowledge that then actually reading someone’s journey.

Keep Fighting, Keep supporting, Keep reading, and don’t be afraid to admit you are scared or upset.

Thanks to all of you, and I am sorry I haven’t posted much about Bella lately but I will post new service dog blogs soon.

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

