Treatment

Sorry I haven’t been writing lately I had a med change and it tends to mess with me. It brings me to an important point. Mental illness medical treatment. When you first start getting treating for depression or anxiety or any other mental illness there are some things doctors tend to leave out. Treatment is not instant. It takes time and changes and open communication.

This is something I at first did not understand. When I was first diagnosed with depression in 2009 I was told that it was temporary due to stress and the seasons. It’s common to view depression as temporary but its important to know that this is not always true, in fact it is rarely true and treatment tends to need to be a continuous thing.

My latest doctor explained it best. Mental Illness is a chemical imbalance that needs to be treated. It is easiest to compare it to diabetes. If a doctor diagnosed someone with diabetes, they would seek treatment and know that it is permanent. People would be supportive and no one would tell them they need to stop taking their medication, so why do we tell people with a mental illness that treatment is temporary and they should stop taking their medication?

As a whole, people need to start being supportive of mental illness and remind each other that it is okay to take medication and need treatment. It is encouraged and helpful. So many people suffer in silence because they feel depression or anxiety is a weakness. I know, I felt this way for a long time. I didn’t want to accept that there was/is something wrong with my brain. I felt weak. But now that I am seeking proper help I realize how important it is and that with the proper treatment life can be better and get back to normal.

Which brings me back to my original point, treatment takes time and patience. For about 9 months now I have been seeking proper treatment. I have a team of doctors, including a therapist, a psychologist, a psychiatrist, and at one point a social worker. I even consider my dog trainers to be part of my team because they help with my treatment. So while they are trying to get my correct medication dose I have to bear with it.

Shes a fantastic treatment option

Shes a fantastic treatment option

Luckily I have Bella. She keeps me going. She forces me out of bed and out of my house. She reminds me it is okay to take breaks; she plays with me and keeps me happy and busy. She has an array of tasks that help in ways medication cant. So while treatment takes time, when you find your correct treatment it can be incredible, I’m lucky that mine includes a psychiatric service dog.

So if you are like me and you are struggling remember that it is worth it. I’m saying this not only for you but to remind myself. And if you are not struggling but you know someone who is, try to be supportive, know that it takes time and sometimes all we need is someone to listen or just to sit in silence and be there. Be strong and have hope.

2 thoughts on “Treatment

  1. Pingback: Valerie discusses Treatment | Animal Psychology Center

Leave a Reply

